Mary J. Ritter Literacy Award

Literacy Award

This award is presented at the annual spring luncheon to assist in the support of an organization that promotes literacy. The award was established to honor the late Mary J. Ritter. Mrs. Ritter was a founder of the Metro-Detroit Book and Author Society and an organizer of the first luncheon in 1972. She was an unwavering supporter of the Society for 40 years and a past president.

Past Award Grantees

  • Melvindale Public Library (2019)
  • Troy Public Library (2019)
  • Sterling Heights Public Library (2018)
  • Warren Public Library, Maybelle Burnette Branch (2018)
  • Vista Marie Reads (2018)
  • Chesterfield Township Library (2017)
  • Walled Lake City Library (2017)
  • Sterling Heights Public Library (2016)
  • University of Michigan Dearborn Library (2016)
  • White Lake Public Library (2015)
  • Warren Public Library (2015)
  • Romulus Public Library (2014)
  • Belleville Public Library (2013)
  • The Family Learning Institute (2010)
  • Macomb Literacy Partners
  • Sienna Literacy
  • Washtenaw Literacy
  • Dominican Literacy Center
  • Oakland Literacy Council